Baking with Mum – my new favourite recipes!

Carrot Cake, Anzac Cookies & Dog Treats

It’s Saturday and today has been amazingly productive.

I went back home so Mum and I could do some vegan baking.  I was a little apprehensive as I’d never baked a vegan cake but I’m so pleased with how it all turned out!  I also learnt how easy Anzac cookies are to make, as well as how to make vegan peanut dog treats (I know, mad right?)

How to make the cake

For the carrot cake, we used Sharon Gannon‘s recipe we came across here.

With the frosting, we winged it a bit, adding icing sugar to creamed ‘butter’ as we saw fit, with a bit of ‘cream cheese’.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

mix:egg.jpg

There’s a lot here for this cake and it takes a while to make but it’s worth it.  The recipe says to use egg replacer so we used 3 tablespoons of ground chia seeds with 9 tablespoons of water to act as 3 eggs.  It worked! Plus, chia seeds are a fab source of fibre, protein and Omega-3 fatty acids.  Who said cake can’t be good for you?!  I was worried it was going to be too dry but if you do give this a go, don’t panic because it does all come together really well, I promise.

How did it go?

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

This is the finished cake!!  We used different tins to the recipe so made this mini one too.  They tasted fruity and warm, with a similar texture to regular cake.  I’d definitely recommend trying it out!

Anzac cookies & Dog treats

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

These soft, sweet and simple Anzac cookies were great! (based on BBC Good Food).  Be careful not to let them catch on the edges though.

Even little Milo enjoyed his crunchy carroty cookies 🙂 (from Vegan Life magazine)

Milo.jpg

Has anyone ever made or used a pre-made egg replacer? Or made dog treats before?

Drop a comment and let me know! 🌱

4 thoughts on “Baking with Mum – my new favourite recipes!

  1. carolyn says:

    Hi. I decided to make the peanut butter and carrot cookies for both my dogs. I must say they looked and smelt delicious. My dogs loved them so want to say thank you very much for the recipe and I look forward to more from The Vegan Cookie 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

