Banana Pancakes

I still sing Hollaback Girl in my head when I write “bananas”…

I really fancied some pancakes the other day but was a little apprehensive about making them without egg.  I found some recipes online that said using banana, oats and milk was a good mix, so thought I’d try it out.

pancake-ingredients

pancake-flour

I used:

  • 3/4 cup of oats
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 tsp sugar (to taste)

Pop the oats into a blender and pulse to make oat flour (magic stuff), then add the milk and banana and blitz some more.pancake-mixHeat a splash of oil in a frying pan and add 1/4 cup of mixture to make one pancake.  Make sure to spread the mixture round soon after, else you end up dragging it and it doesn’t make a pretty pancake 😢

Cook on the first side for a couple of minutes then flip it to cook the other side for about the same amount of time – it’ll start to dry out a bit and then you’ll be good to flip.

I made 4 pancakes with my mixture (the first one was so oily and chunky, it wasn’t fun) and used the remaining banana to decorate, adding some agave nectar as well.

For a first attempt they didn’t turn out too bad, but I think I’ll add some more milk next time.

If you haven’t already, I hope you give dairy free pancakes a go! If you have, how have you made them and what were they like?

I’d love to know how to make perfect pancakes 💚

(PS Milo didn’t eat any, he’s just really nosy 🐶)

2 thoughts on “Banana Pancakes

Leave a Reply

