Simple Sunday Shortbread

Good evening, hope everyone’s had a lovely week and chilled out Sunday 💚

Sundays are always slow and relaxed in my house so I thought I’d use my time to make shortbread – The Vegan Cookie finally documented making some vegan cookies, yay! 👍

Recipe

Shortbread is my favourite thing to make and the recipe is so so simple.  For this, you will need:

  • 300g plain flour
  • 200g butter/spread – I used Flora Freedom
  • 100g caster sugar

(3 – 2 – 1 – DONE!)

Pre-heat the oven to 175ºC (or 350ºF)

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Method

Firstly, mix the flour and sugar in your mixing bowl then rub in your butter/alternative until you’ve got a nice smooth ball of dough.

Then, sprinkle some flour over a clean work surface and rolling pin, to prevent the mix sticking, and roll it out – I cut round biscuits of about 1cm thickness so they’d all bake evenly, but you could cut them into squares, fingers, hearts – be creative!

Next, place them in your baking tray and decorate with a fork (this isn’t vital but it makes them look nice and also, if you’re planning on drizzling them with thin icing later, it allows for the icing to soak into the biscuit a bit 😇 )

Bake in the oven for between 10 and 20 minutes – they should come out pale brown but be careful not to catch the edges.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Once baked, cool on a cooling rack and decorate if you so wish.  I mixed up some icing sugar and water and dropped a dash of vanilla essence in one pot and some lemon juice in the other.

Plate up and tuck in!

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

How do you like to spend your Sundays? Is there anything you would recommend me baking? I’d love to know!

Also – I recorded each step today so I can give video making a try – I’ll keep you updated, depending on how it goes!!

🌱 xx

Leave a Reply

